Bangladesharchives


My first trip to Bangladesh
January 23, 2011, 12:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

A 14 hours flight with Emirates (Amsterdam – Dubai and Dubai – Dhaka), with a tough and scareful landing in misty Dhaka, brings me to Golden Bengal (Bangladesh) where I’m going to assist my collegae Florus Geraedts and Norwegian collegae Torill Torlen with the introduction of a Train of Trainers Programme for archivists at Dhaka University and coordinate the development of a Dutch – Bengal heritage centre in Rajshahi. Fazel Mir, former assistant director of National Archives, and Samsur Rahman, student on information technology, pick me up at Zia International Airport. Because of an Islamic religious festival millions of people are praying on the streets from the airport to Dhaka centre. For this it’s impossible to drive by car to the city centre, so we take the rickshaw to Dhaka. Besides Fazel Mir and Samsur Rahman, I meet Md. Elias Miah, working at the National Archives of Bangladesh, later that day. And of course: Florus Geraedts who’s waiting for me at the Ambala Inn, the hotel in Dhanmondi, centre Dhaka, which is my base camp for the comming two weeks. At lunch Fazel Mir, Florus, Elias Miah and me talk over the progamme for tomorrow, a visit to the National Archives. Temperature is 20 degrees.
Sigfried Janzing

Samsur Rahman and me at the entrance of Zia Intenational Dhaka

... and with Fazel Mir

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

